Explore the charming island, count the stairs and make a wish by pulling the wishing bell.
History & Architecture
Before the church was built on the island, a temple dedicated to the pagan goddess of life and fertility stood at the same place. After Christianisation in 745, the ancient Slavic temple was replaced by a church, dedicated to the birth of Mary. The church was renovated in 1465 and rebuilt in single nave Gothic style. The special feature of the church was 52 metres high free standing bell tower, made of porous stone, called buckwheat grains. The panoramic bell tower has one large and two small bells that still resound today. The church got its current baroque image in the middle of the 17th century; the chapel of the Mother of God was also built on the island to motivate people to pray. The famous staircase was also built in that period. The staircase has 99 stone steps. There is a tradition still alive today, i.e. that the groom has to carry the bride up all 99 steps if the couple wants to get married in the church on the island.
The most recognisable symbol of the island is the Church of the Mother of God on the lake with a long and diverse history. Amidst the greenery, you can explore interesting island buildings such as the bell tower, curacy and provost's house, small hermitage and some other mysterious legendary buildings.
The wishing bell is popular among the many visitors who come to the island. When they ring the bell, they recommend themselves to the Mother of God and express their wishes and requests for her to hear them.
The sexton's house is located at the south staircase. The sexton's house and the hermitage are now connected by a building that was constructed in the second half of the 20th century and was named "Potičnica" in 2012.
The source of a small spring can be found on the north shore, where a stone chapel of Our Lady of Lourdes has been carved in the slope since 1888.